Intersecretarial Commission on Biosafety of Genetically Modified Organisms

The Commission is made up of the heads of the Ministries of Health, Agriculture, Livestock, Rural Development, Fisheries and Food (SAGARPA), Environment and Natural Resources (SEMARNAT), Finance and Public Credit, Economy and Public Education, and the General Director of the National Council of Science and Technology (CONACYT).

The chair of the Commission rotates every two years among the secretaries of Health, SEMARNAT and SAGARPA, the three entities most directly involved in policies concerning the use and biosafety of Genetically Modified Organisms (GMOs).

The Law on Biosafety of Genetically Modified Organisms states that the Commission aims to promote and coordinate the actions of Government agencies. CIBIOGEM receives support from the Executive Secretariat of CIBIOGEM, the Technical Committee, the Scientific Advisory Board and the Joint Advisory Council.




logo bottom